Our History

History of the Maine Association of Nurse Anesthetists

The Maine Association of Nurse Anesthetists was established in 1956. The idea for an association was conceived by a small group of nurse anesthetists at the Maine Medical Center in Portland, Maine.

A pre-organizational meeting was held April 6, 1956, and a by-laws committee was appointed. On May 10, 1956, an organizational meeting was held with ten members present. All members signed an application, which was forwarded to the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists in Chicago.

The first meeting was held in September 30, 1956. Through the courtesy of E.R. Squibbs & Sons Co., two films pertaining to anesthesia were shown.

The small group was very optimistic concerning the Maine Association. Through the help of the AANA, the group grew. In the 1956-1957 period there were 24 active members and 7 inactive members. The Maine Association now became the 42nd state to be organized and recognized.

The 1956-1957 officers were:

  • President: Helen Aulton
  • Vice President: Lucille LaBrecque
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Leda Regina
  • Trustees:
    Georgia Greeley 1 year
    Evelyn Nadeau 2 years
    Marilyn Carroll 3 years

By-laws Committee: Evelyn Richards, Patricia Autovacas, Marguerite Roy
Educational Program: Mary Decker, Marilyn Carroll, Marguerite Roy

(It should be noted that Mary Decker conducted the School of Anesthesia for Nurse Anesthetists at the Maine General Hospital. Upon her retirement the school for Nurse Anesthetists closed.)

At the end of 1957 there were 26 active members and 6 inactive members.

The Maine Association of Nurse Anesthetists now has over 270 active members who live in all areas of the state. Members work in the largest medical centers in Maine, as well as being the only anesthesia providers in some of the state’s most rural hospitals.

MEANA Presidents


2019-2020: Daniel Rice
2018-2019: Erin Foley
2017-2018: Paul Schneider
2016-2017: Seth Rabinowitz
2015-2016: Tom Nolan
2014-2015: Kristie Hoch
2012-2014: Stacey Whittington
2010-2012: Paul Schneider
2008-2010: Vance Wormwood
2006-2008: Dana Marshall
2004-2006: Bruce Rioux
2002-2004: Kathleen Donnelly
2000-2002: Coleen Walsh
1998-2000: Vance Wormwood
1997-1998: Michael McGinnis
1995-1997: Catherine Hagerman
1994-1995: June St. Pierre
1992-1994: William Trimble
1988-1990: Leon Deisering
1990-1992: Michael McGinnis
1986-1988: Rebecca Belanger
1984-1986: Theodore Kehn
1982-1984: Barbara Clark
1980-1982: Bruce O’Donnell
1978-1980: Pauline Barbin
1976-1978: Gladys Stewart
1975-1976: Sylvia Durepos
1973-1975: Pauline Barbin
1972-1973: Ronald Turner
1970-1972: Daniel Isabel
1968-1970: Theresa Giguere
1966-1968: Gladys Stewart
1964-1966: Pauline Roy
1962-1964: Georgia Greeley
1960-1962: Marilyn Carroll
1958-1960: Evelyn Richards
1956-1958: Helen Aulton Black